Springboard Festival Winners 2017


Springboard – Brighton & Hove Performing Arts Festival  (9th May 2017)

Congratulations to everyone who took part in the annual Springboard Festival and thank you to everyone who took part in the Highlights Evening and Musicians of All Saints Tea Concert.

Highest mark in the Festival

Hazel Nguyen – winner of the Roedean Cup

Classical Singing and Choirs Section

Tamzin Barnett – The Madame Mimi Scharrer Cup
Mei-Ying Chow – The Laura Eaton Cup
Tamzin Barnett – Winner of a coaching session with Lesley-Anne Sammons
Bob Ahern – Winner of a coaching session with John Hancorn
Tamzin Barnett – Winner of a coaching session with Dame Felicity Lott

Concerto Section

Berniya Hamie – First prize under 14s
Amber Emson – First prize under 19s
Hazel Nguyen – First Prize Concerto under 25s
Chi-Hoi Cheung – Second Prize Concerto Under 25s

Guitar Section

Jacob Page – The Bach Trophy

Piano Section

Hazel Nguyen – Winner of Senior Championship and The European Piano Teachers Association Challenge Cup
Charlotte Yan – winner of Junior Championship and The Edward Paxton White Memorial Cup
Natasha O’Flynn– The Doris Waymark Trophy (Senior)
Tyzer McAllister – The Brighton Hammond Organ Society Challenge Cup
Ido and Amit Balter  – The Lisa Childs Memorial Trophy (2)
Zoe Billyard – The Seventh Art Sonata Cup
Berniya Hamie – The Christine Pembridge Cup (Junior)
Alice Ertl– The Christine Pembridge Cup (Junior)

Speech & Drama Section

Sophia Shalabi – Winner of Junior Championship (8–10 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (1)
Christopher Gilling-Ulph – Winner of Junior Championship (11–13 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (2)
Thando Shange – The Sonnet Salver donated by Mrs Patricia Brindley
Hannah Turner – The Philip Andrew & Peter Howard Shield
Elite Dance & Drama Academy – The David Henry Bloor Memorial Plaque
Oliver Page – The Rebekah Clifford Cup
Ellie Bulpett – The Craig Whiteley Cup
Ellie Bulpett – The Olive Barton Cup
Sam Cartwright – The Angus Rowland Cup
Ewan Erasmus – Festival Shield donated by Mrs Helen Hayes
Theatre Workshop Group G – Festival Shield donated by Nicola Patching & Kate Stoner
Thando Shange and Paris Ryan, joint winners – The Society of Teachers of Speech & Drama Award

Strings Section

Freya Clarke –The Corin Long Senior Recital /The Corin Long Festival Cup
Milan Beckett – The Cecil Aronowitz Memorial Cup

Woodwind & Brass Section

Leah Hallinon – The Patrick Criswell Challenge Cup

Winners of the Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra season tickets

Berniya Hamie
Natasha O’Flynn


Springboard Festival is affiliated to the British and International Federation of Festivals.